Love and Marriage

29 Sep

Today is just one of those mornings I didn’t want to get out of bed. I wanted to wake up and for it to be Saturday morning all over again. My little sister, Kristan, came in town from Charlotte, North Carolina to celebrate one of our closest family friends getting married.

I haven’t seen my sister since the end of July so to say that I was excited to spend the weekend with her was an understatement.

We brunched, shopped and of course partied.

The wedding ceremony and reception was held at the gorgeous Salvage One venue in Chicago. If you are unfamiliar with this particular spot, it’s a vintage furniture store that they transform on the weekends. All the furniture was eclectically mismatched, but uniquely cool and retro. There were chandeliers of all shapes and sizes hanging from the ceiling and even a pair of old church bells.

photo 1 (19)

photo 4 (12)

My favorite detail, however, was the marquee Chicago sign in the courtyard.

photo 2 (22)

The ceremony was quick, but beautiful. The bride, a lover of all things French, chose classic French bistro music as her background to the ceremony.  The mother and fathers of the bride/groom wrote touching letters addressed to the couple and a Willie Nelson song was even recited before two pronounced their vows.

photo 2 (21)

Everything was beautiful.

photo 4 (11)

I feel extremely fortune to say that I still have friends from when I was in grade school. That we have been through dress up plays, middle school fads, first time love, first time heartbreak and all that there is in between together. All the way to marrying the love of her life… It’s truly special.

Leave a comment